Torres, Mata, Diego Costa make Spain world cup squad

Spain coach Vicente del Bosque has named uncapped trio David de Gea, Dani Carvajal and Ander Iturraspe in his provisional list of 30 players for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.

Del Bosque will announce his final 23-man squad for La Roja's title defence on 25 May, a day after Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid have disputed the UEFA Champions League final.

Manchester United's De Gea replaces the injured Victor Valdes as the third-choice goalkeeper, while Carvajal and Iturraspe are rewarded for their excellent seasons with Real and Athletic Bilbao respectively by offering cover in defence and midfield.

Diego Costa is included after scoring 36 goals this season to propel Atletico on to the brink of a league and European double. The Brazil-born striker is one of four Atleti players included along with right-back Juanfran, midfielder Koke and Spain's all-time leading goalscorer at international level David Villa.

Chelsea's Fernando Torres is also included despite another difficult season at club level, as are Juventus's Fernando Llorente and Alvaro Negredo of Manchester City, with only one likely to make the final cut.

However, there was no place for Real midfielder Isco or Tottenham Hotspur forward Roberto Soldado.

Barcelona remain the most represented club with seven players selected, including Andres Iniesta, who scored the winner in the South Africa 2010 Final.

Spain squad:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas, David de Gea, Pepe Reina.

Defenders: Jordi Alba, Raul Albiol, Cesar Azplicueta, Dani Carvajal, Juanfran, Alberto Moreno, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos.

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets, Santi Cazorla, Cesc Fabregas, Andres Iniesta, Ander Iturraspe, Koke, Javi Martinez, Juan Mata, Jesus Navas, David Silva, Tiago Alcantara, Xabi Alonso, Xavi.

Forwards: Diego Costa, Fernando Llorente, Alvaro Negredo, Pedro, Fernando Torres, David Villa.


No comments

Powered by Blogger.